California State Food Safety Requirement Summary


Select Local Requirements

Servsafe approvalServSafe Food Protection Manager Certification Examination is approved in the state for certification and food handler's state certificate

Certification Fee

Instructor RequirementsApproved ServSafe Instructor

Code requirementEach food facility shall have an owner or employee who has successfully passed an approved and accredited food safety certification examination.... The certified owner or employee need not be present at the food facility during all hours of operation.” (CA Health & Safety Code Sec. 113790). Senate Bill 602 requires, Food handler who is involved in the preparation, storage or service of food in a food facility has to have a valid food safety certificate ( temporary and restricted food service facilities are exempt and DO NOT require a food card). " California Food Handler Card Law" required.

Hours of InstructionTraining prior to the 5 year recertification. Include the elements as state in food code 113947.2

Certification RenewalEvery 5 years for manager and 3 years for food handler

MiscellaneousThe ServSafe certificate issued upon successful completion of the exam must be kept on file at the food facility at all times and made available for the health inspector. ServSafe Print, CD-ROM and Online training is approved in the State. Food handler's certificate will be $15.